Claudia Stokes to edit Religious Writings

The Collected Works of Harriet Beecher Stowe (CWHBS) has commissioned Claudia Stokes to edit Religious Writings.

Claudia Stokes is Professor of English at Trinity University, where she teaches courses  nineteenth-century American literature,  feminist theory, and in the humanities core program. She is the author of Writers in Retrospect: The Rise of American Literary History, 1875–1910 (University of North Carolina Press, 2006) and The Altar at Home: Sentimental Literature and Nineteenth-Century American Religion (University of Pennsylvania Press, 2014), which received Honorable Mention for the Book Prize awarded triennially by the Society for the Study of American Women Writers. Her new book, Old Style: Unoriginality and Its Uses in Nineteenth-Century U.S. Literature, is forthcoming in November 2021 from the University of Pennsylvania Press. She is also co-editor, with Elizabeth Duquette, of the new Penguin Classics edition of Elizabeth Stuart Phelps’s The Gates Ajar. With Michael A. Elliott, she also co-edited  American Literary Studies: A Methodological Reader (New York University Press, 2003), which examines the impact of interdisciplinarity on the study of American literature. She has received grants and fellowships from the Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History, Harvard’s Houghton Library, and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  She has also written numerous articles.  An essay taken from her current book project, “The Poetics of Unoriginality: The Case of Lucretia Davidson,” was awarded the Florence Howe Award for feminist scholarship given by the Women’s Caucus of Modern Languages.  In 2018, she received Trinity University’s highest award, the Dr. and Mrs. Z. T. Scott Faculty Fellowship for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching and Advising.  Her essay “Novel Commonplaces: Quotation, Epigraphs, and Literary Authority,” published in American Literary History, was awarded the 1921 Prize for best essay in American literature (tenured category), given in 2018 by the American Literature Society.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *